2022-2023 Rutgers Brain Health Institute Trainee Travel Awards

The Rutgers Brain Health Institute (BHI) is pleased to announce a new trainee travel awards program for Rutgers neuroscience PhD, MD/PhD students and post‐docs. BHI will provide up to TEN $500 awards to help offset the cost of attending a national or international conference that will be held during the current fiscal year (i.e., by June 30, 2023). There will be eight annual awards in the four BHI focus areas‐ Neurodegeneration and Injury, Neurodevelopment, Motivational and Affective Neuroscience and Cognitive and Sensory Neuroscience. Each of the four Focus Area Working Groups (FAWGs) will select two awardees. In addition, the Junior Faculty Working Group (JFWG) will select candidates for two travel awards set aside exclusively for graduate students or post‐docs whose primary mentors are junior faculty (defined as faculty holding a tenure‐track Assistant Professor title).

To apply for the awards, please fill out the required Trainee Travel Awards cover form (attached fillable PDF), attach the conference abstract to be presented (250 word maximum), your recent CV, and a single page letter of support from lab PI. Submit all materials as a single PDF document by November 15, 2022 to

BHI Working Group Trainee Travel Awards Application Cover Form: Click Here

Trainee Travel Awardees must–

1. Acknowledge the Rutgers Brain Health Institute on the poster or in the slide presentation (submit a picture of the Acknowledgement section of the conference poster or presentation slide).

2. Present the poster at the Annual Rutgers BHI symposium held during the Fall semester.

3. Submit copies of the travel and registration receipts to BHI.

** Trainees in the labs of the Chairs and Vice‐Chairs of the BHI Working Groups are not eligible for these travel award competitions as they have already been allotted separate trainee travel awards from BHI.

Neurodegeneration & Injury FAWG: Chair- Dr. Detlev Boison; Vice Chair- Dr. Terri Wood
Neurodevelopment FAWG: Chair- Dr. Wayne Fisher; Vice Chair- Dr. Chiara Manzini
Motivational & Affective Neuroscience FAWG: Chair- Dr. Danielle Dick; Vice Chair- Dr. Zhiping Pang
Cognitive & Sensory Neuroscience FAWG: Chair- Dr. David Zald; Vice Chair- Dr. Robin Davis
Junior Faculty Working Group (JFWG): Chair- Dr. Victoria Abraira; Vice Chair- Dr. Miriam Bocarsly